En | Fr

June 23, 2015 - Day 2

June 23, Tuesday – Day 2 – TCU Place 

View / Download Conference Program PDF

8:00 a.m. Registration and Continental Breakfast

8:45 a.m. Welcome and Day 2 Overview

9:00 a.m. Keynote Speaker – The Honourable Justice Murray Sinclair

Topic: The Path to Reconciliation

Justice Murray Sinclair is an Ojibway-Canadian judge, First Nations rights activist, and the current chair of the Canadian Truth and Reconciliation Committee.

10:15 a.m. Health Break and Networking

10:30 a.m. Concurrent Workshops

Workshop A: Systemic Advocacy Initiatives – Building the Partnership

Moderator: Andy Livingston, Saskatchewan Human Rights Commission


  • Lynette Griffin, Manager of Paratransit & Accessibility, City of Regina
  • Rachel Loewen Walker, Executive Director, Avenue Community Centre
  • Judy Shum, Director, Community Impact Saskatoon United Way

Workshop B: Inherent Bias and Discrimination

Moderator: Lewanna Dubray, Saskatchewan Human Rights Commission


  • Kim Pate, Executive Director, Canadian Association of Elizabeth Fry Societies and Ariel F. Sallows Chair in Human Rights, University of Saskatchewan College of Law
  • Professor Melanie Morrison, University of Saskatchewan Presentation (EN)
  • Chief Kimberley Jonathan, Federation of Saskatchewan Indian Nations

11:45 a.m.  Break

12:00 p.m.  Lunch Keynote Speaker, Dr. Ryan Meili

Topic:  Thinking Upstream: Expanding Our View of Health as a Human Right

1:30 p.m.  Concurrent Workshops

Workshop A:  Citizenship Education

Moderator: Carol Riekman, Saskatchewan Human Rights Commission


  • June Creelman, Director of Learning and Programming, Canadian Human Rights Museum
  • David Katzman, “Voices into Action” Spokesperson
  • Dr. Alison Molina-Girón, University of Regina
  • Terry Myers, Educational Consultant Presentation (EN)

Workshop B: Disability Rights Initiatives

Moderator:  Robin Mowat, Saskatchewan Human Rights Commission


  • Bob Wihlidal, Assistant Deputy Minister, Disability Programs, Ministry of Social Services Saskatchewan
  • Dr. Marcia Rioux, Distinguished Research Professor School of Health Policy and Management
  • Dr. Fern Stockdale Winder, Clinical Psychologist, Saskatchewan Mental Health and Addictions Strategy

3:00 p.m.  Health break and Networking

3:30 p.m.  Concurrent workshops

Workshop A: The 3 R’s at Ground Zero

Moderator: Gordon Bulmer, Chair of the PIPSC National Human Rights in the Workplace Committee


  • Barbara Byers, Secretary-Treasurer of the Canadian Labour Congress
  • Debi Daviau, President, Professional Institute of the Public Service of Canada
  • Larry Rousseau, Vice President of the Public Service Alliance of Canada

Workshop B: Educating the PublicThe Role of Media

Moderator: Darrell Seib, Saskatchewan Human Rights Commission


  • Doug Cuthand, Columnist, Saskatoon Star Phoenix
  • David Fisher, Vice-President and General Manager of CTV Saskatchewan

4:45 p.m.  Closing Remarks – Chief Commissioner David Arnot

5:00 p.m.  Day 2 Closes