What's New

Chief Commissioner David Arnot Honoured as CTV’s 2016 Saskatoon Citizen of the Year

January 1, 2017

On December 31, 2016, CTV Saskatoon announced that Chief Commissioner David Arnot had been named the 2016 Saskatoon Citizen of the Year.

Mr. David Fisher, Vice-President and General Manager of CTV Saskatchewan, said that Chief Commissioner Arnot, “has been a true champion of respect and belonging for all people in our city, province and country,” and that, “He represents the best of our citizenry in his efforts to make our community more inclusive.”

David Arnot has served as the Chief Commissioner of the Saskatchewan Human Rights Commissioner since January 2009. Prior to that, he was the Treaty Commissioner for Saskatchewan, the Director General of Aboriginal Justice (Federal), and a Judge for the Provincial Court of Saskatchewan. CTV Saskatoon noted that Arnot’s focus on citizenship and treaty education has helped foster belonging in Saskatoon and throughout the province. 

During the evening newscast, Mr. Fisher stated that, “[David Arnot] is a voice for reconciliation, he is a supporter of faith communities, newcomers and the LGBTQ community.”

According to the press release, the CTV Saskatoon Citizen of the Year award is presented to, “an individual who exemplifies excellence in community service.” This is the 50th year for CTV Saskatoon to present this annual award.

Link to the CTV Saskatoon Press Release

For more information about Chief Commissioner Arnot