The Commission

Our Mission

To promote and protect the individual dignity, fundamental freedoms and equal rights of Saskatchewan citizens.
The Saskatchewan Human Rights Code, 2018

Our Mandate

  • Discourage and eliminate discrimination
  • Investigate and resolve discrimination complaints quickly and effectively
  • Support and seek remedies for individuals and groups who suffer discrimination
  • Promote, approve and monitor equity programs
  • Promote research and education strategies to advance the principles of equality and diversity, and to encourage understanding of human rights issues
  • Promote leadership on human rights related public policy development and implementation
  • Promote advances in human rights legislation and protection

Our Visual Identity

Our visual identity captures the meaning and focus of our work. Graphically, it represents two intersecting (=) symbols that form a shelter under which the basic human rights of every Saskatchewan citizen are protected.

Its colours represent the three levels of human rights legislation and jurisdiction that provide this protection. The colours Green and Gold represent the Province of Saskatchewan and its Bill of Rights. Red represents Canada and the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms. And, Blue represents the United Nations and the Universal Declaration of Human Rights.

Together, these pieces of legislation define and protect the rights of every Saskatchewan citizen and inform our work everyday.


  • Chief Commissioner Treena Sikora

    Chief Commissioner Treena Sikora

    CommissionerOn January 26, 2024, Treena Sikora was appointed Chief Commissioner of the Saskatchewan Human Rights Commission. Chief Commissioner Sikora received her Bachelor of Laws (LL.B.) from the University of Saskatchewan. She was called to the Alberta Bar in 2002, then to the Saskatchewan Bar in 2003. Following that, she practiced law in Saskatoon. Chief Commissioner Sikora is a former Chair of the Saskatchewan Police Commission. She also served as a hearing officer with the Office of Residential Tenancies, was President of the Global Gathering Place, and served as Vice-Chair of the Saskatoon Community Mediation Services. Chief Commissioner Sikora was a sessional lecturer with the Department of Justice at the University of Regina and the Gabriel Dumont Institute in Prince Albert. She also worked in Namibia with the Canadian Lawyers Association for International Human Rights. In 2023, Chief Commissioner Sikora became the first civilian to receive the “Leadership Award” for Excellence in Policing.
  • Deputy Chief Commissioner Rish Malhotra

    Deputy Chief Commissioner Rish Malhotra

    CommissionerDeputy Chief Commissioner Malhotra comes with  over 20 years’ of global management experience in engineering, finance, and technology industries. He is a Professional Engineer (P.Eng.) with an MBA from the Edwards School of Business and holds the Institute of Corporate Directors designation (ICD.D) from the Rotman School of Management. Deputy Chief Commissioner Malhotra is a recipient of The Queen Elizabeth II Platinum Jubilee Medal and has served on the  board of Hope Restored Canada. Deputy Chief Malhotra has a passion for making a difference  in the lives of those who are vulnerable.