What's New

SHRC welcomes new appointments

January 29, 2024

The Saskatchewan Human Rights Commission would like to extend a warm welcome to new Chief Commissioner Treena Sikora, Deputy Chief Commissioner Rish Malhotra, and Commissioners Judy Desjarlais, Darlene Cooper, Melissa Ong, Murabik Syed, and Alan Thomarat.

The new appointments replace Interim Chief Commissioner Barry Wilcox, K.C., who will be stepping down effective January 31, 2024, as well as Colleen Cameron-Bergan, Mike San Miguel, and Fatima Coovadia – whose terms as Commissioners have expired.

“My time with the Commission has been enjoyable and gratifying,” said Coovadia. “I am proud of what we were able to accomplish during my tenure and I am grateful for the opportunity to have served the people of the Province of Saskatchewan.

The Commission thanks the former Commissioners for their dedication and service over the years, and looks forward to working with the newly appointed Commissioners to protect and promote human rights in Saskatchewan.